Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Create a web profile
Share |


MI-AWWA recognizes the exceptional dedication and contribution of its members to the water industry. The Section and the Association have robust Recognition Programs that celebrate professionals who have contributed to the water industry and/or the Section in a variety of ways. Most recent winners are listed below.

Awards are given based on merit criteria listed. Awards may not be presented if no qualified candidate is nominated.


Nominations are accepted between January 1 and June 1 of each year. To make a nomination for any Section award, please use the nomination form.

Most Recent Awardees

Award Descriptions




2019 awardees

For a list of all awardees, see the Membership Directory.


Section Level Awards

Professional Excellence - Individual (NEW in 2019)

  • 2019 Christopher Steary
  • 2019 Donald Petrovich


Professional Excellence - Organization (NEW in 2019)

  • 2019 City of Battle Creek


Young Professional of the Year

  • 2019 Rachael Barlock


Raymond J. Faust Award

  • 2019 Barbara Marczak
  • 2019 Donald Petrovich


Chuck Van der Kolk Volunteer of the Year Award

  • 2019 Mark Coleman


Michigan Water Industry Hall of Fame

  • 2019 inductee Patsy Clark


AWWA Level Awards

Operator Meritorious Service Award

  • 2019 LaShone Bedford


George W. Fuller Award

  • 2019 Richard Benzie


Exemplary Source Water Protection Award

  • 2019 Plainfield Charter Township

 Honorary/Life status - 2019

  • Rodney Burkholder
  • Donald DeGrand
  • Joseph Goergen
  • George Haga
  • Stan Hazan
  • William Maier
  • Susan McCormick
  • Janice Skadson

Gold Water Drop - 2019

  • James Cleland

Silver Water Drop - 2019

  • James Lahti
  • Kurt Malzahn
  • Shawn McBride
  • Tony McGrath
  • Rick Miller
  • John P. Paquin
  • Michael Slomski
  • Thomas Smith
  • Christine Spitzley
  • James Van Harn


EGLE Edward Dunbar Rich Award (Awarded by EGLE)

  • Michele Hewitt
  • Michael O. Hiller
  • Robert Koehn
  • David A. Lipski
  • James W. MacQuarrie
  • Ray Neubeck
  • Charles J. Radecki
  • Scott Smith
  • Patrick Southworth
  • Robert J. Tervonen
Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal