Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Create a web profile
MI-AWWA Award Descriptions
Share |



MI-AWWA celebrates exceptional work and service in a variety of ways. Below is the list of awards recognized each year during the Section's Annual Conference (MI-ACE). Consider nominating a colleague. Nominations are due by June 1.


Award Descriptions

Most Recent Awardees

Award Nomination Form



Non-nominated Awards

These awards are given based on the criteria listed and are not subject to the nomination process.


Executive Director Award

is given to the volunteer who embodies the unique partnership between Section staff and volunteers.


Tenure Awards

Silver Water Drop

is given to AWWA members who have reached their 25th year of membership.

Gold Water Drop

is given to AWWA members who have reached their 50th year of membership.

Life Member Status

is given to AWWA members who have reached their 25th year of membership and have retired.


Nominated Award


MI-AWWA Professional Excellence Awards

The Section looks to honor individuals, organizations, companies, project teams, or any other individual or group who made an exceptional contribution to the water industry.  This award recognizes noteworthy efforts in protecting public health, promoting safe drinking water, innovative or creative ideas, or outstanding leadership characteristics.  

Up to four awards (two individuals and two groups/organizations) will be given each year.  There is no criteria for years of service. 

Young Professional of the Year

The Michigan Section of AWWA Young Professional of the Year Award recognizes the contributions of young members, whose service and achievements are exceptional for their years of experience. The award is given annually to one member of the organization that has demonstrated an active commitment to the organization and the profession as a whole.

Raymond J. Faust Award

The award recognizes one or more individuals for outstanding personal service in the water supply field. The award commemorates Raymond J. Faust for his contributions to safe public health engineering practices, his advancement of sound water supplies, and his dedication to building and promoting the waterworks industry of high esteem.

Chuck Van Der Kolk Volunteer of the Year Award

The award would recognize an individual for the volunteer contributions to the Section through one or more of the following: interaction with a variety of groups (staff, Councils, etc), providing long term exceptional service to the Section, performed a single action that has a large impact on the Section, or advanced the Section’s mission through talent and service.

Michigan Water Industry Hall of Fame

Established in 2013 by the Michigan Section, American Water Works Association (MI-AWWA), the purpose of the Michigan Water Industry Hall of Fame is to perpetuate the memory of those drinking water heroes who have made the most significant contributions to the field of public water supply in the state of Michigan. Visit the Hall of Fame here.

Richard Husby Public Awareness Award

This award recognizes a Michigan water utility, organization and/or individual for significant accomplishments in promoting awareness and understanding of the water supply issues among the general public, through the development and implementation of public education activities.

Research and Technical Practices Award

The Purpose of the Research and Technical Practices Award is to: 1. Acknowledge outstanding research and technical practices 2. Share research and technical practice findings among utilities 3. Encourage new research.


Operator Meritorious Service Award

The Operator Meritorious Service Award recognizes individuals for special performance in one or more of the following areas: 1. Continuous compliance with public health standards in finished water 2. Consistent and outstanding contribution to plant maintenance; thereby prolonging the useful life of equipment 3. The development of new and/or modified equipment or significant process modifications to provide for a more efficient or effective treatment 4. Special efforts in the training of treatment plant operators 5. Special acts, not directly related to water treatment, but which demonstrate dedication to the public beyond the normal operating responsibilities 6. Consistent and outstanding contribution to operation and/or maintenance of distribution lines, pump stations, and reservoirs

Exemplary Source Water Protection Award

The AWWA Exemplary Source Water Protection Program Award recognizes a public water system that has developed and implemented model source water protection programs. The drinking water supply sources must be associated with a water system or authority that is regulated by a federal/state/province/tribe government agency. The award applies to systems using surface water and/or groundwater as their source.

Wendell R. LaDue Safety Award

The award, established in honor of Wendell R. LaDue, is presented to recognize distinguished water utility safety programs.

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal